30 — My Next Chapter

 

When you turn 30, everyone says “Welcome to the 30 Club!” and talks of how thrilling and liberating it is to be a 30 year old woman. You’re more clear about who you are, what you want, passions really make themselves impossible to ignore…

When I turned 30 last November, I made a major and somewhat unexpected life altering move.  I moved from my beloved and comfortable studio apartment in the Upper West Side NYC to Jacksonville, FL of all places.  A city that I literally had never really thought of in all my life.  I knew it would be a big and scary move, but there were elements of exciting growth opportunities personally, professionally and financially…and it’s hot/sunny/beach life, so it couldn’t be all that bad.  A risky choice, but worthwhile and at the end of the day I knew I could always go back to NYC.

The first 3 months were pretty cool.  My pinterest dreams came true! I had a new space and reason to decorate a much bigger place. I was relieved from the constant busyness of NYC – living calendar free during the week for the first time in years…. weekends were still hectic with Spelhouse Homecoming, weddings, my 30th birthday bash in NYC, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s…. I was practically never home and when I was, I’d run off to the beach and catch up on mags.  The life.

Then it began to set in a bit that this was truly my new life. I had to prove myself at work again, make friends, figure out what was happening in my relationship that brought me here, and honestly just pick something to do with all of my free time… all of the hard stuff!  Step by step I began to build a new life for myself.  I hit some professional milestone, now have a cool group of gals and spent enough time alone to uncover my passions.

In hindsight, I may have done things a bit differently, but I believe that everything happens for a reason and I look forward to uncovering those reasons & gems during the rest of this definitive chapter in my life…  One filled with love, career moves, celebrations and travels — which is exactly what I love to discuss and plan to focus on.   And with that, I finally decided to throw myself back into my blog from 2008 as a hobby, professional next steps and a way to feel connected again.  I hope you will join me!

xoxo,

Kimmy

Leave a Reply

