Words of Wisdom

Earlier this week I was at war with self over whether or not I should go on vacation this weekend with the girls.  I just went to St. Maarten & I have an LA trip on the horizon for June.  I figured i’d knock out some of this little bit of debt left on my credit card that i’ve been so good about getting rid of in 2009 (and i’m almost there!)Every dollar spent, I think about the opportunity cost of having that amount kicking it on my Amex Blue.

But the more I pictured my girls beachside on the back patio, eating at our fave restaurantsblasting the latest tunes with champagne poppin, and then returning with the perfect tan...the more I died inside.

I consulted some people and everyone thought I should take the L, pay the premium, and just go. But I fought it because I knew that I could have just as much fun on a NY ‘staycation’.  I rationalized with ideas of what would be fun in NYC: some friends were throwing a party in the Hamptons, I could spend time with family, and just enjoy the break. For whatever the deeper reason, I convinced myself that I shouldn’t go.

And then I contacted my wiser, older, and arguably more fabulous brother (because he’s pretty much always right) & this was his advice:

“JUST THINK ABOUT WHICH YOU WILL REGRET MORE — DOING IT OR NOT DOING IT” – Walter K. Frye IV

"JUST THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU WILL REGRET MORE, DOING IT OR NOT DOING IT?" - WKF IV

"JUST THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU WILL REGRET MORE, DOING IT OR NOT DOING IT?" - WKF IV

My response was “wow, that was profound” and I booked the flight (with my debit card of course, not using credit card ever again).

I posted his words of wisdom as my facebook status almost immediately (makes me wanna vomit that i’m that linked in at times, but whatever) & some commentary proved that more people needed to hear this.

Life is short. Tomorrow or “next time” is not promised. Yes, we should live responsibly, cautiously, etc. But we cannot forget to live in the moment and pat ourselves on the back from time to time…If you work hard, you deserve to also play hard. Don’t get crazy, but play. Break the rules & routine sometimes & just live freely.

This is easy for me to say, because I don’t even have rules or routine in my life. Creating discipline & structure to my life is something I battle with, which is the total opposite of most people I know But even I sometimes forget that it’s okay to be young & free while I can.

So whatever it is you’re considering...think of the great words of Walter K. Frye IV – he’s a good person to listen to, trust me on this one.

XOXO,

Kimmy

3 thoughts on “Words of Wisdom

  1. Well said…I beleive in living in the moment yet resposibly.. you are young girl.. enjoy yourself!!!Have a good trip:)!

Leave a Reply

