A weekend review…

I was supposed to write about my Mother for today, but procrastinated writing the post and refuse to post a rushed write up on Mom, she’s worth more than that. So I will write about Mother’s Day weekend, which happens to involve plenty of time spent with her.

Friday…

Had a ‘cocktail meeting’ for NY Alum Assoc for Spelman College so I chose to link up @ Hudson Terrace, a rooftop bar that opened to the public last week. They have 2 for 1 drinks from 5-7. The area is semi-suspect and prone to tourists (near hotels, intrepid, and times square) 46th/12th, but very cute situation and the drinks and live tropic tunes are well worth it. Hudson Terrace was officially added to my rooftop happy hour destinations. Go. Oh yea, meeting was productive, tons of good ideas formulated from heavy-handed drinks.

Sunset @ Hudson Terrace

Sunset @ Hudson Terrace

Later in the evening the girls and I travelled to BK for some nightlife. We heard the perfect BK soundtrack en route (biggie, lil kim, hov), so we knew it would be a good night. Not going to lie, we had a few “this is so BK” sidebar joke moments, but we really enjoyed ourselves (even sans 2009 top 40 hits). The owner was so kind to us and strongly urged us to ‘friend them on facebook’, make the trek back, and we’d have a good time again. We hit cafeteria afterwards at 3am. Some things are popular and ‘so overdone’ for a reason cafeteria, is one of those nyc things…

Saturday…

So overdone actually, that I found myself meeting my Mom and brother there at 1pm the following day to kick off our Mother’s Day activity. (Saw the brooklyn couple from housewives of ny and ted danson, random? Yes.) Post-lunch, we headed over to the Housing Works design on a dime sale/fundraiser. It was outstanding. If you’re considering buying some true investment pieces in the future, I highly recommend this sale next year.

Next, we headed over to BK.

Dumbo...beautiful!

Dumbo...beautiful!

We went to the Dwell Magazine Loft Tour in BK. 5 extremely well designed and decorated homes located in dumbo, cobble hill, fort greene, park slope, and brooklyn heights. It was a great way to familiarize myself with different neighborhoods and inspired me to freshen up the look in my apartment. And of course, had a fab time kicking it with the fam in BK (should’ve stuck around to kick it at Habana Outpost, heard it was poppin).

My old roomie was back in town searching for summer sublets & celebrating another year of life – so the OC got together to kick it!! We went to our friend Kwame’s birthday bash @ Pachita and had a semi-reunion with faces we haven’t seen since we retired the old ‘circle’ parties.  This night proves one of my most serious lessons to be true: (even though we felt ancient around ’07/’08  heads) that even in the worst of clubs (i HATE pachita with a passion) you can have fun with the right people!!

Sunday…

It took a while for me to actually wake up, so I unfortunately I missed my church/hair ritual. Then I leisurely took the time to clean my room (swag mix on full blast), moved furniture around for a new look, and dashed out the door to get all things Mother’s Day taken care of in 20 mins (I run late to everything). I was in charge of dessert for family so I went to Magnolia Bakery in midtown on the way to Penn Station to get some of that sexy Banana Pudding (great suggestion @Kells1) and cupcakes. Jersey time, was quick, but fantastic.  Had a great home cooked meal & good laughs with the most important people in my life (pretend phone calls to the Tooth Fairy with Jaelyn are priceless).

"hello, toothfairy? can you please bring me my teeth?"

"hello, toothfairy? can you please bring me my teeth?"

Got back to my super clean and new bedroom and decided to deep clean my entire apartment (swag mix on full blast), wash my hair, and go to sleep at a decent hour (made it to work this morning in record time).

I did way too much running around, but you only live once, gotta live while you can 🙂 Brought my golf clubs back from Jersey – ready to hit the links this weekend!!!

Xoxo,

Kimmy

One thought on “A weekend review…

  1. Love the hudson terrace…you’re right to add it to your roof top happy hours, I’m glad we found something new in the city. Check out their brunch on Sundays, I think you’d like it!

Leave a Reply

